Ignite Award

In 2019, the Conference on Crimes Against Women created the IGNITE award to highlight and honor various courageous efforts that are sparking awareness and action across the country, bringing injustice out of the darkness and lighting the fire of change not only in the recipients’ local communities, but across the nation.

At the 14th Annual Conference on Crimes Against Women in Dallas, we selected the Star Tribune’s Denied Justice team as the recipient of the first inaugural Conference on Crimes Against Women’s IGNITE Award.

For over a year, the Star Tribune examined more than 1,400 rape and sexual assault case files from the 20 law enforcement agencies across Minnesota that reported the highest number of sexual assault reports to the FBI. Because of their unyielding dedication to bringing this injustice to the light, the Star Tribune team held their systems accountable to ensure these survivors received justice.

It is difficult to know the countless hours of investigation, fact-checking, writing, and production that went into the exhaustive exposé that is Denied Justice. We applaud the Star Tribune’s commitment of time, space and resources. And, we are honored to have the opportunity to recognize Brandon Stahl, MaryJo Webster, Renée Jones Schneider, and Jennifer Bjorhus for holding our systems accountable to ensure survivors of sexual assault receive the justice they deserve.

Click here to learn more about the Star Tribune’s Denied Justice Team and their work.

Check back later for updated information about our 2021 Ignite Award winner!